My First Picture Book to be Published by Sylvan Dell Publishing!

IT’S A WONDERFUL DAY…

What a fantastic day of firsts Feb.11, 2014 turned out to be. As the first big snowstorm (and hopefully the last in this case) of the 2013-2014 winter season approached my area, all was wonderful for me in the world of kidlit.

When I arrived at home, I had my first agent interview for my blog in my email inbox. The wonderful Christa Heschke took such an interest in answering each and every one of my many questions. In her answers, I can see the personality of a very nice, very sincere, very knowledgable agent.

Second, my husband walked in with the mail and handed me my contributor’s copy of The Mailbox with my very first printed magazine publication inside of it. Oh what a happy feeling.

Then if things could not get any better, as I was working on my first Chapter Book, I spotted an email in my inbox from Sylvan Dell Publishing with the subject line “We would like to publish your manuscript.” I stared at it for a second, just to make sure it was real. I clicked the email and right there in front of my eyes was a contract from the publisher that I have been submitting to for 5 long years! Over the years,  I have had some terrific feedback from Donna German, the editor and even an almost offer back in 2009, but this time it was an actual contract attached. The feeling of “Ahh…I finally did it!” was surreal. All those years admiring their books and keeping in contact through submissions to the editor and yes, of course all of those rejections…almost a dozen to be exact. My first published picture book, a folklore titled THE SPARROW AND THE TREES will be in my hands and more importantly in the hands of little kids in 2015. After all of these years, finally my dream has come true.

So yes, the snow storm may be coming and I sure hope it is the last one, but no amount of snow could put a damper on this author. Feb. 11, 2014 is a wonderful day!

16 thoughts on “My First Picture Book to be Published by Sylvan Dell Publishing!

  1. CONGRATULATIONS, Sharon! I am so happy for you! You are such an inspiration to me and I am overjoyed to share in all of this wonderful news with you! Congrats on The Sparrow and the Tree! All your hard work and your excellent writing has brought you to this very special moment! I am so excited to read your book!
    Enjoy celebrating!
    Sue 🙂

  2. Sharon,
    I am so excited for you! Your talent, hard work, perseverance and positive attitude are inspirational. Enjoy this sweet success — you deserve it! .

  3. Can’t remember who sang it, but it fits your February 11th-
    Oh what a day, what a glorious day, what a glorious beautiful day!

  4. Thank you everyone for posting your congrats and I really appreciate all of you posting and showing your support! I am so happy and I can’t wait until The Sparrow and The Trees is released!

Leave a Reply

